Waterways Holidays Ltd Reviews

4.87 Rating 4,384 Reviews
99 %
of reviewers recommend Waterways Holidays Ltd
Merchant Metrics
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Telephone, Email, Live Chat
Queries Resolved In
Under An Hour
Customer Service
4.99 out of 5
Read Waterways Holidays Ltd Reviews

About Waterways Holidays Ltd:

Self-drive boating holidays on the UK Canals, Rivers and Norfolk Broads plus European boat hire in France, Germany and Portugal. No experience necessary. Family friendly holidays. City breaks by boat.

Visit Website


01252 796400




47 Station Road

Write Your review

Tell us how Waterways Holidays Ltd made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
Waterways Holidays Ltd 5 star review on 18th June 2020
Mr Pirrie
Waterways Holidays Ltd 5 star review on 30th January 2020
Ms Washington
Waterways Holidays Ltd 5 star review on 9th January 2020
Jane Diener
Waterways Holidays Ltd 5 star review on 4th May 2019
Mr Cresswell
Waterways Holidays Ltd 5 star review on 1st January 2019
Mr Rook
Waterways Holidays Ltd 5 star review on 19th December 2018
Mr Lockwood
Waterways Holidays Ltd 5 star review on 2nd August 2018
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
Shambles. Boat payed for has been changed twice.
Posted 11 months ago
Hi Mr Ferris. I understanding that following your booking with Waterways Holidays, you have subsequently been dealing directly with the marina who had offered you a free upgrade to a newer boat at no extra cost due to the practicalities of their cleaning regime and ensuring that they can meet all of the covid secure requirements. Kind regards Abbie
Posted 11 months ago
Very good service told us all we need to know
Posted 1 year ago
Waterways don't point out that whilst all boats should be non smoking some might have a problem with the stench of nicotine from previous holiday makers. I had to leave my boat and the whole if my holiday it was that bad.
Posted 2 years ago
Many thanks for taking the time to leave your feedback. As explained at the time, each boat is fitted with No Smoking signs and all customers are requested to refrain from smoking inside every boat. Once you made the team aware of your concerns, the offer was made to fully valet the boat once again but you preferred to take a full refund for your holiday which was offered by the boatyard. We are very sorry that you chose not to continue your holiday as we always try our best to ensure that as family businesses, both the boatyard and ourselves seek to provide the best possible customer care.
Posted 2 years ago
Very upset that a 5% booking discount over a group booking was offered, but out of 3 boats in the party could only offer to 2 and we were offered nothing. Surely an offer like this should be spread evenly across the whole booking. I think its disgraceful and based on this would not book again
Posted 4 years ago
Dear Mrs Shaw, Many thanks for your feedback. Each special offer is set by the operator of your chosen boats. In this instance your operator offers a multiboat booking discount equivalent in value to 5% of the hire cost of the second and third boats for a three boat booking. This discount is normally shared across all three boats as it is in effect treated as a single booking for three boats. I will pass your disappointment to your boat operator and thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback which is always really appreciated in order to help us improve our customer service. Nigel
Posted 4 years ago
I'm confused and annoyed. To make the booking, I had to agree to conditions that were not available to me. Now some unknown organisation (Heather at Wyvern Shipping) is telling me I should expect to pay a bond of 250 Pounds. This was not mentioned anywhere until I made the booking. I also received an email from another unknown person (Lesley Richards) asking for the crew names that I have already supplied and asking to to start corresponding with some other organisation (: bookings@canalholidays.co.uk)
Posted 5 years ago
Dear Mr Wilson. Many thanks for your feedback and very sorry for any confusion. Waterways Holidays works directly with each boatyard and you will receive confirmation from both Waterways Holiday and the marina from where you start your holiday. I can categorically confirm that there is no requirement for a £250 refundable security deposit or 'bond' payable on your holiday. Any extras will only ever be as quoted to you at the time of booking. I have also emailed you directly to confirm this. Once again, sorry for any confusion and we wish you a great visit to the UK and a very enjoyable boating holiday - Nigel
Posted 5 years ago
Very easy to make a booking with a very helpful lady calling me within an hour of making the booking. I was able to ask as many questions as I needed an she answered them all and put me at ease.
Posted 7 years ago
we were charged for monday 15th july as the boat had to be preped, when we actually collected it tuesday 16th we called on a manager to complain, the boat had not been cleaned & we were forced to wait a hour & a half so it could be cleaned. We received a £40 refund which i am unhappy with, doubt i will use herbert woods again.
Posted 7 years ago
Waterways Holidays Ltd is rated 4.87 based on 4,384 reviews