Waterways Holidays Ltd Reviews

4.87 Rating 4,384 Reviews
99 %
of reviewers recommend Waterways Holidays Ltd
Merchant Metrics
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Telephone, Email, Live Chat
Queries Resolved In
Under An Hour
Customer Service
4.99 out of 5
Read Waterways Holidays Ltd Reviews

About Waterways Holidays Ltd:

Self-drive boating holidays on the UK Canals, Rivers and Norfolk Broads plus European boat hire in France, Germany and Portugal. No experience necessary. Family friendly holidays. City breaks by boat.

Visit Website

Phone:

01252 796400

Email:

info@waterwaysholidays.com

Location:

47 Station Road

Write Your review

Tell us how Waterways Holidays Ltd made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
Waterways Holidays Ltd 5 star review on 18th June 2020
Mr Pirrie
Waterways Holidays Ltd 5 star review on 30th January 2020
Ms Washington
Waterways Holidays Ltd 5 star review on 9th January 2020
Jane Diener
Waterways Holidays Ltd 5 star review on 4th May 2019
Mr Cresswell
Waterways Holidays Ltd 5 star review on 1st January 2019
Mr Rook
Waterways Holidays Ltd 5 star review on 19th December 2018
Mr Lockwood
Waterways Holidays Ltd 5 star review on 2nd August 2018
Anonymous
5
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
Disappointing. Made an enquiry, got a call to say that we could book, took the details for us to pay the deposit. Said “have a lovely holiday”, so we started making plans for our trip, only to get a call the following day to say that a mistake had been made and the boat wasn’t available after all. We fully understand that these things might happen - but it would have been helpful (& avoided huge disappointment) if checks on availability had been carried out before telling us that our trip was available...
Posted 4 weeks ago
Hi Mr Smith, Thank you for providing us feedback on our service. As a long standing valued customer, I am sorry to hear that you experienced an error on our website availbility. We do always strive to show live availability online, and I can only apologize that this was not the case for your holiday request. I really hope you found a suitable alternative for your boating holiday. Kind regards, Abbie
Posted 3 weeks ago
Strange in these days of on-line booking to have to wait for a phone call during working hours to pay - even the boatyard has an on-line payments system - not convenient for those who work full-time
Posted 11 months ago
Does seem pretty expensive as ya only really get 3 days but it’s on my partners bucket list just wish we could get on earlier and leave later in the last day plus when had already booked had to pay extra for the dog
Posted 1 year ago
The website is awful. Doesn't remember your selections so that you can tweak them. Have to start from scratch every time you want to make a slight change. Lady on the phone (Trudy) was lovely though.
Posted 2 years ago
Thank you for your feedback, we appreciate hearing customer's experiences and are continuously striving to improve. I hope you have a lovely holiday.
Posted 2 years ago
easy to use, and lots of choice
Posted 3 years ago
The telesales handler was polite, well spoken and knowledgable
Posted 4 years ago
Website hard to navigate, insecure and does not provide standard online payment options. Follow up was by phone only, instructions, both on website and in confirmation email, contradict those provided on the phone. Lack of written confirmation of what was booked before payment. Otherwise happy, the approach works, just plenty of room for improvement.
Posted 4 years ago
Many thanks for your review and very helpful feedback. All personal booking details are sent securely from our site using encrypted booking pages but we do like to discuss each chosen boat reservation. This ensures you receive the best possible holiday option for your comfort and price before a payment is taken and your booking finalised. Once again, thank you for your feedback and we wish you a very enjoyable holiday.
Posted 4 years ago
The booking process was relatively easy and the staff were very helpful in answering all my questions
Posted 4 years ago
We loved the Broads and would definitely come again but we were very disappointed with Emperor 2 which was not the quality we were expecting. A downpour during one evening left my daughter sleeping in a soaking wet bed! There were screws missing from the front windscreen and the wipers didn't work. We did not feel the boat was priced to reflect its standard!
Posted 4 years ago
Dear Mrs Mancini, Many thanks for taking the time to leave a review, we are glad to hear that you loved the Broads. We appreciate all feedback and shall pass on your comments about the boat to the boatyard. Please do not hesitate to contact us if we can help further. Best wishes, Waterways Holidays
Posted 4 years ago
booked this as a Monday to Friday break was disappointed to be informed we would have to be back Thursday evening to hand boat back 9.00 am Friday
Posted 5 years ago
Dear Mr Price. Many thanks for your feedback. All midweek breaks for all 80 boatyards we represent are 4 nights starting Monday or Tursday from around 2 pm with checkout at 9 am on the final day. These are the timings discussed before any booking is confirmed and as shown on every boat detail. It is not required to return the boat the day before unless you wish to. I am sorry if the timings are not ideal but it is essential for boats to return early on the final day in order that they can be fully serviced for collection by the next customer the same afternoon. We wish you a lovely boating holiday and hope the timings don't spoil your enjoyment. Nigel
Posted 5 years ago
Far too early to write a review. I have only just booked the boat. That went well. The lady I dealt with, Helen, was very helpful and the responses to questions are very fast and thorough. Very impressed with her community engagement. Only one question. It does feel that the whole process is trying to wring as much money out of us as they can. I am hiring a very expensive boat. It would have been nice to have a complimentary rowing boat. I have had to find an extra £40. However, it won't ruin what will be a fantastic holiday
Posted 5 years ago
Dear Mr Harbon Many thanks for your kind review. Sorry that we are unable to offer a rowing boat at no charge as this is outside of our control but we wish you a very enjoyable holiday.
Posted 5 years ago
Booking dates did not fit exactly to our preferences - eg: available in blocks of weeks only. So we needed to change other plans but the block date system is understandable which was no big deal. We were making booking from Australia and the email system worked well. the time zone difference was OK because responses were prompt. The narrowboat safety and operation videos were appreciated. We probably would have appreciated more info on the canal routes and attractions.
Posted 5 years ago
Although the booking process is painless, there is scope to improve the experience of searching for and comparing boating holidays, especially on a mobile device like a smartphone or tablet.
Posted 5 years ago
Dear Mr Delaney. I am pleased to confirm that in response to your feedback, we have now introduced a mobile App version of our Waterways Holidays website which will automatically load when using a phone to search our holidays - Many thanks again for taking the time to let us know how we can improve our customer service.
Posted 4 years ago
A bit difficult to navigate too the place you want to start. Quick reponse after booking
Posted 5 years ago
Hi Mr Mogstad. It is indeed true that the most difficult part in selecting your holiday is choosing where to start from as there are so many choices with over 80 bases across the UK. Our booking team are all experienced boaters and are always delighted to advise on the most suitable routes based on personal experience and the type of holiday you would like to enjoy (e.g. chilled gentle cruising or plenty of locks and activity!) Glad we could help you find the best holiday for your party and have a great time! - the Waterways Holidays Team 01252 796400
Posted 5 years ago
I would have liked to be able to pay the deposit on line at the same time as I made the booking.
Posted 5 years ago
Dear Mr Wharton, thank you for your feedback. Our system is directly linked to many of the major boatyards and availability is live as shown on our site. A number of smaller operators we work for are however still more manual so full online booking is not yet possible. We do also really like to talk through your holiday with you to ensure that we have offered you the best possible option to meet all of your requirements. We hope you have a fantastic boating holiday. Best wishes, Waterways Holidays.
Posted 5 years ago
The lady I spoke to was very nice! I did ask her to look up some to see if there were some cheaper alternatives for us but she only read out more expensive ones so I think there was a lack of understanding... but didn't really matter too much. It wasn't clear to us from the start that fuel (£120) would need to be paid for in advance, nor that the pet would cost £35. So what we thought would be costing £497 plus £45 damager waiver (totalling £542), ended up costing £702!! This was a bit of a shock.
Posted 5 years ago
Dear Miss Allen, Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback on your booking experience. After speaking with my colleague, it would appear that the boat you have confirmed was the best priced option left available in your chosen area of the UK. The fuel cost is paid as a deposit only, and the usage is calculated on your return, and if applicable a refund of the difference will be actioned for you. To clarify, the fuel is only paid up-front if you are within 8 weeks to the holiday. From all of us at Waterways Holidays, we hope you have an enjoyable holiday.
Posted 5 years ago
Booking went through as we would have expected. However, we had chosen a different craft and requested this on via the web based booking/ enquiry system on the Friday night, as we had not had a reply I called Waterways Holidays Saturday morning to be to the vessel requested had been booked by another party directly through the owners. Surely if a booking request had been submitted then this should stand and whoever requested the vessel first should be able to book it.
Posted 5 years ago
Dear Mr Griffiths, Thank you for your feedback. Most boats show live availability linked directly to each boatyard booking system. Unfortunately on occasion, more than one last minute enquiry is received for the same boat and in such cases you are correct, the boat is always offered to the customer that enquired first. Fortunately we were able to find you an alternative boat for your requested dates and wish you a great boating holiday.
Posted 5 years ago
Very pleasant staff, but the confirmation took 3 days to come through, we had to chase it up, the payment took 4 days to come out the account.
Posted 5 years ago
Dear Mr Newbold. Many thanks for leaving us your feedback which we really appreciate. On investigation, the administrator at the boatyard was on one weeks annual leave at the time of your booking so your payment and confirmation was held securely on the system until their return when it was processed immediately by the boatyard. Please accept our apologies for any concern that this short delay may have caused and we wish you a fantastic boating holiday. Kind regards, Nigel
Posted 5 years ago
It would have been much more straightforward to have provided all our details on a secure web page connection than providing some of them and then having to receive a form, complete it and resubmit by email or fax. Booking on line is the norm now and I was surprised to book any other way. Other than that, booking was fine.
Posted 6 years ago
Dear Mr Atkinson, Many thanks for your feedback which is always really appreciated. The booking form process you describle is currently only used for customers visiting us from overseas (Australia) and we are moving to online payment where supported by your chosen marina. We wish you a fantastic boating holiday from all of us at Waterways Holidays
Posted 6 years ago
Very dissappointed that we were not allowed to navigate the London ring. I am experienced boater with VHF license.
Posted 6 years ago
Dear Mr O'Connor, many thanks for your review and I fully understand your disappointment at not being permitted to cruise the tidal Thames which would be necessary to complete the Thames Ring. Unfortunately this restriction is a recent ruling by the Port of London Authority and applies to every hire boat. As such, it is completely beyond the control of the boat operator. You can still cruise into the heart of London or North up the Grand Union Canal from the London hire base. The hire boat industry is engaged in negotiations with the PLA and it is hoped that a future agreement can be reached to once again allow hire boats to navigate the section of the Thames between Limehouse Basin and Brentford. I hope that you still enjoyed your trip despite not being able to complete your preferred route And thanks once again for your feedback. Nigel
Posted 6 years ago
Waterways Holidays Ltd is rated 4.87 based on 4,384 reviews