Waterways Holidays Ltd Reviews

4.87 Rating 4,384 Reviews
99 %
of reviewers recommend Waterways Holidays Ltd
Merchant Metrics
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Telephone, Email, Live Chat
Queries Resolved In
Under An Hour
Customer Service
4.99 out of 5
Read Waterways Holidays Ltd Reviews

About Waterways Holidays Ltd:

Self-drive boating holidays on the UK Canals, Rivers and Norfolk Broads plus European boat hire in France, Germany and Portugal. No experience necessary. Family friendly holidays. City breaks by boat.

Visit Website


01252 796400




47 Station Road

Write Your review

Tell us how Waterways Holidays Ltd made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
Waterways Holidays Ltd 5 star review on 18th June 2020
Mr Pirrie
Waterways Holidays Ltd 5 star review on 30th January 2020
Ms Washington
Waterways Holidays Ltd 5 star review on 9th January 2020
Jane Diener
Waterways Holidays Ltd 5 star review on 4th May 2019
Mr Cresswell
Waterways Holidays Ltd 5 star review on 1st January 2019
Mr Rook
Waterways Holidays Ltd 5 star review on 19th December 2018
Mr Lockwood
Waterways Holidays Ltd 5 star review on 2nd August 2018
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
The website feels very old and out of date and it is hard to use. The photos are really small and the slideshow scrolls wildly up and down when I try to click on a particular image. The floorplan image of the boat is a useful feature.
Waterways Holidays Ltd 2 star review on 5th August 2019
Posted 1 year ago
I am still waiting for address to pay for my holiday. kazbestwick@hotmail.co.uk
Posted 4 years ago
Dear Mrs Bestwick, Thank you for your feedback, I have checked our emails and my colleague Trudi sent your confirmation email with the full details for payment to kazbestwick@hotmail.co.uk on Friday 9th June at 11.01am, perhaps it went into your spam/junk folder? We have resent it now for you. If you have not yet recieved it, or if you have any queries, please let us know. Kind regards, Abbie Bacchus
Posted 4 years ago
The original boat l booked (Duet 2) had been double booked. So l was offered a different boat (Julliette 2) Unfortunately this wasn't available for the entire time I originally booked. So meant loosing a day of the break. I spoke to someone very helpful who offered me another boat. "Morning Light" for the entire time of the original break. Within an hour l received a call to say this had been offered by mistake and was then offered yet another boat but for almost double the cost of the original holiday. Reluctantly l have now reverted back to the original boat albeit for three days not the four planned. So before the holiday has even started l am disappointed. Also found one staff member quite rude and nearly cancelled the whole break for that alone.
Posted 4 years ago
Dear Mr McNeice. Many thanks for taking the time to leave a review. I am really sorry that your first choice boat was already booked. This was a rare system error and has been investigated and corrected. I sincerely apologise for the disappointment that I am sure this caused. I am pleased that we were able to offer a larger alternative traditional cruiser (Juliette) but understand that this was not your first choice of boat or dates. As your booking is last minute there were sadly few boats available and hence the very limited choice. I hope that this does not spoil your boating holiday and apologise again for any disappointment caused as a result of not being able to book your first choice - Nigel (Managing Director)
Posted 4 years ago
I booked through the website which said i would get confirmation by return. I rang up 3 days later to enquire if the booking had been arranged. It was i was told by a pleasant telephone receptionist who also informed me they had phoned through the confirmation. I had not received any such message, but perhaps the intervening bank holiday was to blame
Posted 6 years ago
Dear Mr Halford, thank you for taking the time to review Waterways Holidays. We appreciate all feedback and are disappointed to hear that unfortunately you did not receive our voicemails and text message following your booking enquiry earlier that day. Thank you for getting in touch with us to confirm your holiday booking, we hope you have a lovely time.
Posted 6 years ago
hello, not yet received booking confirmation or any schedule details regarding times of arrival / boat return, address of boat yard etc.......this is the first email we have received from you........k. thrower
Posted 6 years ago
Dear Miss Thrower and Mr Willson, thank you for taking the time to review Waterways Holidays. Following our chat where we discovered that our confirmation email had been delivered to your junk mail folder, we are very grateful for your subsequent 5 star rated review. We hope you have a lovely boating holiday. Best wishes, Waterways Holidays.
Posted 6 years ago
The booking team were very pleasant and helpful
Posted 6 years ago
Dear Mr Birkumshaw. Many thanks for your kind review. We noticed that you only gave us 2 stars of a possible 5. Was there something you felt we could have improved upon please? - We wish you a very enjoyable holiday.
Posted 6 years ago
Things not working properly spoilt our holiday
Posted 6 years ago
Dear Mrs Cowan, Thank you for the feedback on your recent boating holiday and we are very sorry to learn from your review that there was a problem with your boat. Could you very kindly drop me an email to info@waterwaysholidays.com with the details of what was not working correctly so that we may investigate further together with the boatyard and reply directly to you. Thank you - Nigel
Posted 6 years ago
The online booking service is incomplete for two reasons. When things are working well, you still have to telephone to confirm the booking and make payment. Secondly, the boat owners do not always keep the service up-to-date, so it's possible for double-bookings to occur. Having said that, the staff on the end of the phone are very helpful and professional. I recommend using the website as a rough guide, and then phoning them up right away.
Posted 6 years ago
Dear Mr Kilfedder, Many thanks for your review. Most boats show live availability linked directly to each boatyard booking system. A few smaller operators currently update web availability manually which can occasionally result in a short delay if a boat is booked out of hours. We are continually working to complete integration of the few smaller remaining operators without auto update. I am pleased that we managed to find you an alternative date on your requested boat with a special offer price and wish you a great boating holiday.
Posted 6 years ago
The telephone team were not aware that the canal trip we booked was unavailable due lock maintenance. Having spoken to the owner of the boat I understand this was his error in not informing your team. Nonetheless this has caused some problems for us. Perhaps you should reinforce the need that owners keep you aware of such issues. Other than this admittedly large problem your team were helpful, friendly and competent
Posted 7 years ago
Dear Mr Hunt, Many thanks for your review. We are very sorry that your planned trip was not possible due to a lock closure preventing access to your preferred destination which we were unaware of at the time of speaking. Your booking has been cancelled and a full refund provided. Such navigation restrictions are fortunately rare and almost always only apply to the winter months. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused.
Posted 7 years ago
Empty gas bottles after one day. Engine breakdown meant losing two days.
Posted 7 years ago
Dear Mr Inman Many thanks for your feedback. We are really sorry to learn of your boat breakdown which we understand was an engine seizure due to a mechanical fault. We understand from the boatyard that a free short break holiday for 2014 was offered on your return in recognition of the time lost and we very much hope that you are able to take advantage of this offer. Waterways Holidays
Posted 7 years ago
not what we thought
Posted 7 years ago
Dear Mr Dudley, many thanks for your review. We’re sorry to hear your holiday was not as expected. We would be very grateful if you could kindly give us more feedback as we are always keen to ensure that every customer has an enjoyable holiday. Please drop us a direct email to info@waterwaysholidays.com. Thank you, Waterways Holidays.
Posted 7 years ago
Waterways Holidays Ltd is rated 4.87 based on 4,384 reviews